Wednesday, June 12, 2024
HomeNewsSikkim Elections: Chief Minister Golay Outperforms BJP

Sikkim Elections: Chief Minister Golay Outperforms BJP

Sikkim Elections: Chief Minister Golay Outperforms BJP
Sikkim Chief Minister Prem Singh Golay celebrates his electoral victory

Gangtok, June 4, 2024 – Sikkim Chief Minister Prem Singh Golay achieved a significant electoral victory, amassing more votes than all Bharaiya Janta Party (BJP) candidates combined in the recent state elections. Golay, representing the Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM), secured 20,574 votes across two constituencies, Rhenock and Soreng Chakung, surpassing the BJP’s total of 19,956 votes in all 31 constituencies.

Breakdown of Key Constituencies

In Soreng Chakung, Golay garnered 10,480 votes, while in Rhenock, he received 10,094 votes. His performance outshone former Chief Minister Pawan Kumar Chamling of the Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF), who contested from Namcheybong and Poklok Kamrang but managed only 9,913 votes in total, losing both seats.

Chamling, who has been a significant political figure in Sikkim, received 4,939 votes in Namcheybong and 4,974 votes in Poklok Kamrang. The SDF, historically a dominant party, faced substantial defeats, with SKM securing a decisive lead.

SKM’s Dominance

The SKM collectively secured 225,068 votes across 32 constituencies, winning by a margin of 119,565 votes over the SDF, which received 105,503 votes. Tenzing Lamtha emerged as the lone victor for the SDF in the Shyari constituency, securing 6,633 votes and defeating SKM’s Kunga Nima Lepcha by 1,314 votes.

Indian football icon Bhaichung Bhutia, contesting on an SDF ticket, lost in the Barfung constituency by 4,346 votes. Bhutia received 4,012 votes, while SKM’s Rikshal Dorjee Bhutia won with 8,358 votes.

Notable Performances

Other notable SDF candidates included MK Subba from Rangang Yangang, who secured 5,313 votes but lost by 1,201 votes, and Mechung Bhutia from Martam Rumtek, who received 5,308 votes but was defeated by 2,762 votes. Both candidates were beaten by former BJP legislators Raj Kumari Thapa and Sonam Venchungpa, now with SKM.

Pintso Namgyal Lepcha, another defector from BJP to SKM, won in Dzongu by a margin of 5,007 votes, defeating SDF’s Sonam Gyatso Lepcha, who received 1,395 votes.

BJP’s Performance

The highest vote count for the BJP was in Upper Burtuk, where State BJP President Dilli Ram Thapa secured 3,755 votes but lost to SKM’s Kala Rai by 2,568 votes. In Maneybong Dentam, incumbent MLA NK Subba received 1,924 votes but lost to SKM’s Sudesh Kumar Subba by 6,629 votes.

Tseten Tashi Bhutia, a prominent Bhutia community leader, secured 1,054 votes in the Sangha constituency, losing to SKM’s incumbent Sonam Lama by 865 votes. The BJP did not field a candidate in Lachen Mangan.

Other Parties and Independents

The Indian National Congress secured 1,228 votes in 12 constituencies, a tally lower than the NOTA (None of the Above) count of 3,810 votes.

The newly formed Citizen Action Party (CAP) had a poor showing, securing 23,351 votes across the state. CAP’s Chief Ministerial candidate, Ganesh Rai, contested from Melli and Chujachen, obtaining 4,698 votes in total and losing both seats.

Independent candidates accounted for 6,399 votes across seven constituencies. Notably, Khushendra Sharma, an independent from Gyalshing Bernyak, secured 4,649 votes but lost to incumbent MLA Lok Nath Sharma by 963 votes.

This election highlights a significant shift in Sikkim’s political landscape, with SKM solidifying its position and outpacing both historical and emerging competitors.

Also Read: Sikkim Trio Uncovers 12 New Orchids and Two Wild Jasmines

Gangtokian Web Team, 04/06/2023

Most Popular